Benefits of Defragmentation

Defragmenting a hard drive, or more accurately, a file system, involves rearranging the bits of data on disk so that all of the pieces of a file are laid out in sequence. As data is written to a disk, many small chunks of a file can be spread over a large portion of the hard disk. Over time, this lack of organization can result in a very significant performance impact, much as your day would be shot if you have not defragmented in a while. Be sure to turn off the screen saver before doing this, or it may interrupt the process.

To access the Defragmentation utility in Windows 2000 and XP:

1. Click the Start Menu

2. Click All Programs

3. Click Accessories

4. Click System Tools

5. Click Disk Defragmenter.

4 Responses to Benefits of Defragmentation

  1. Dhinakaran says:

    Dear Sir,

    Recently i had formatted my computer due to virus infection & reloaded my vista that came along with my PC after installing all necessary softwares i started running defragmentation to my surprise i noticed something very peculiar as the defragmentation was running i had a glimpse of the c drive free space which suddenly started to decrease how can defragmentation decrease the free space of C drive please advise i have never come across any thing like this so far moreover i stopped the defragmentation immediately but still the free space still remains the same can u please brief me whats happening

    Dhinakaran

  2. daisywee says:

    Yeah, I agree with your opinion that there are many ways to fix a slow computer and maintain PC performance. But to my own experience, a simple disk defragmentation can not be missed when trying to get a faster computer for it helps to easily make the computer run faster by rearranging them stay at the same single place and insist on regularly defragmenting my computer. When searching the Internet, I have found an article taking about this in details as you can get more further information here: http://ezinearticles.com/?Disk-Defragmentation—Make-Computers-Run-Faster-Soon&id=3162755. Believe me, it is worth reading!

  3. malefactor18 says:

    Great article, I have a similar article on my blog. http://zacharychastain.wordpress.com/2009/01/10/defrag/.

    I’ve had it for about a year, but I haven’t done much with it. I’m hoping to have time to post more content a bit more often from now on, and I’m looking to connect with bloggers who share the topic of simplifying and explaining technology in order to provide different viewpoints and a wider variety of topics to my site visitors.

    Let me know if you’re interested.

    Thanks,
    Zachary Chastain

  4. malefactor18 says:

    I’m sorry, something strange happened to my link, it will be quite hard to get in touch with me if you can’t find my blog.

    http://zacharychastain.wordpress.com/2009/01/10/defrag/

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

